Tiny piece of land Get to know our island


Mauritius, known officially as the Republic of Mauritius, is an island nation located off the coast of the The South West of MauritiusAfrican continent in the southwest Indian Ocean. It is a volcanic island of lagoons and palm-fringed beaches with coral reefs surrounding most of the coastline. The island is situated approximately 2400 kilometers off the South East Coast of Africa. The island covers an area of 1,865 square kilometers or 720 square miles, with 330 kilometers of coastline. Mauritius is 45km in width and 65km in length. The island is also a former home of the dodo, a large flightless bird related to pigeons, driven to extinction by the end of the 17th century through a combination of hunting and the introduction of predatory species.


Most Mauritians are bilingual being equally fluent in French and English. English is the official language, but French and Creole are widely spoken. Oriental languages also form part of the linguistic mosaic. Mauritius is a densely populated island of around 1.2 million people. It has a reputation for stability and racial harmony among its mixed population. Mauritius is known as a plural society where all the ethnic groups present: Hindus, Muslims, Creoles, Chinese and Europeans live in peace and where all the ancestral cultures have been preserved. These features make the island a unique place in the world, and the Mauritians known for their tolerance and kindness towards all people.



Mauritius was first discovered by the Arabs as early as in the 10th century, but officially explored by the Portuguese in the 16th century and subsequently settled by the Dutch in the 17th century. The Dutch were the ones who named the island in honor of Prince Maurits van NASSAU. Mauritius was occupied successively by the Dutch (1598-1712) and later by the French (1715-1810). The French assumed control in 1715, developing the island into an important naval base overseeing the Indian Ocean trade, and establishing a plantation economy of sugar cane. The British captured the island in 1810, during the Napoleonic Wars through the Treaty of Paris. On 12 March 1968, Mauritius became Independent.


Generally, Mauritius is the perfect travel destination all-year-round. Here are some specifics about the temperature:
High Season (Dec–Feb)
Extremely humid; temperatures between 25°C and 33°C (5°C cooler in the interior). December is great for diving and snorkeling.

Mid Season (Mar, Apr, Oct & Nov)
Temperatures between 20°C and 30°C. Best months for diving visibility: October, November, March and April. 
Low Season (May–Sep)
Cooler temperatures of 18°C to 25°C but still tropical.


TIME: Mauritius is four hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time and three hours ahead of mid-European Time (2 hours difference during the winter time, and 4 hours difference during the summer time).
VISAS: Not required for most nationalities for stays of up to three months.
LANGUAGE: English, french, creole.
CURRENCY: The Mauritian currency is the rupee (Rs), which is divided into 100 cents (c). There are coins of 5, 10, 20, 25, 50 cents, and of 1, 5,10 Rs.
DRIVING: Driving is on the left, with priority to the right.


THE DODO BIRD: The dodo was was found in only one place in the entire world: Mauritius. If you want to know more about the dodo, make sure you check out the Mauritius Natural History Museum, located in Port-Louis.
THE MAURITIAN FLAG: The Mauritian flag consists of four colors: red, blue, yellow, and green. They were chosen to represent the history of the nation and its future. The red represents the painful past and bloodshed during slavery and colonization; the blue represents the beautiful Indian Ocean; the yellow represents the sunshine and optimism of the Mauritian people; and finally, the green represents the lush vegetation of the island.